Potato Beet Salad with Dill and Mustard Vinegarette

It is so hot I labor to breathe. Yet a girl needs to eat. I got a few potatoes in my farm share this week and plucked some beets from the garden – but I didn’t have enough of either for much of a dish. So I decided to combine them and make a nice, cold salad for taking a few bites when I had the energy. The beets stain everything (including hands!) a nice magenta, which makes for a lovely presentation on the plate, if I do say so myself. Too bad this was so delish that I decided not to share.

 Potato Beet Salad dressed with a Dill Mustard Vinegarette

I cubed the potatoes and beets and steamed them under tender to the fork. Potatoes are done a bit quicker, so perhaps put the beets in first and follow up with the taters maybe 2 or 3 minutes later. This step might take 10 – 15 minutes.

Meanwhile: chop a few T of fresh dill. Add to 3 parts good olive oil, 1 part vinegar (white balsamic? white wine? I actually used 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 sherry vinegar which was nice). Add a dollop (1 – 2 T?) of good, spicy mustard. Season with sel de provence (mine’s local! fennel seed would also work here with salt to taste, or herbe de provence and salt or whatever you feel like, really) and pepper and dress your cooked potatoes. Then chill and eat.

Leave a Reply

