The Easiest Apple Crisp

What a perfect fall weekend! Warm in the sunshine, a bit crisp (not the edible kind) in the shade. The ideal day to pick apples! I couldn’t decide on my favorite kind of apple was so I did a little mix and match at the orchard and will throw in a few different kinds into my apple crisp later on today. I have finally memorized my favorite recipe. As much as I try, I don’t love the complicated oaty topping versions. Just give me straight up sugar, flour and butter (in a 2:2:1 ratio, mix up with a fork until chunky and toss over chunked apples) with some cinnamon, clove and nutmeg thrown in for spice. I bake it at 350 for 25 minutes or so, watching to make sure the sugar starts to carmelize and the apples are soft. Sometimes I put a little liquid in the bottom of the baking dish to help steam the apples and keep it all moist. Maybe a tablespoon or two of apple cider or calvados (or one could use water, I suppose). Perfectly fall and totally delicious.

Leave a Reply

