Pea Tendril Pesto

I didn’t know what to do with the pea tendrils from the farm share. I was told to “fry them up”, but I tried that last year and they weren’t that tender (despite their name). So, last night I came up with something new. I took off the top half (smaller leaves, more delicate stalk) and threw them (about 1 1/2 loosely packed cup’s worth) in the cuisinart with a large chopped clove of garlic and about half as much basil. With the motor on, I drizzled in olive oil, salt and pepper as if I were making regular pesto. I also added my last tablespoon of pine nuts and served it atop a mound of baked spaghetti squash (halved, roasted in a dish with water), but it would be great on any (real) pasta, or dabbed on local wild scallops as I’m having tonight.

This pesto is a bit lighter and brighter tasting than straight up basil. I think I might try making pesto with the bottoms and mint and just a small clove of garlic, maybe serving them up with lamb chops from the meat share. Yum.

Leave a Reply

