Herb Salt

Mother Nature teased me the last few weeks with her unseasonably warm weather. I was almost caught off-guard as I let my woody herbs soak up the last rays of warm above-freezing weather. Thus I found myself in the garden one afternoon late last week with raw hands and a bagful of sage and rosemary leaves as the sun was setting and the snow starting to swirl.

Inspired by the delicious Provencal Salt I’ve been using all summer (purchased from the local Herb Lyceum stand at the farmer’s market) I decided to dry the sage in my dehydrator (just a few hours did it as the leaves already had a low water content) and then process them until finely crumbled. I then mixed salt and sage at a ratio of 3:1. I packaged some up in small recycled glass jars for holiday presents and will be leaving a bit for myself to toss with the last of my beets or on cauliflower, pork chops or in a beef stew.

Leave a Reply

