Local + Global = Glocal – Guest Post by Steve Mayone

20121001-084922.jpg

 

EVEN MORE IN THE SPIRIT OF COLLABORATION, I AM SO PLEASED TO FEATURE A GUEST POST FROM STEVE MAYONE, MUSICIAN, SONGWRITER, AND SELF-DECLARED “O.H.” THANKS FOR PUTTING UP WITH ALL THE FRUIT FLIES. – SUZANNE COPE

 

 

I am the proud husband of Locavore In The City author Suzanne Cope. Her love of locally sourced foods, cooking, culture, and writing have put her at the forefront of the locavore movement. As an OH myself (rap slang for “original hippy”) I have always supported and embraced the back-to-the-earth movement and her championing of it. It’s simple, really: we are what we eat. And if we eat locally grown foods, our health and immunity systems would be better and stronger than eating processed and synthetic or chemically altered foods. Numerous health papers have born this irrefutable truth out.

As of this writing in 2012, the Locavore movement has barely reached its nadir. What started back in the 1970’s has slowly picked up steam and momentum. Small batch food companies that started in kitchens and were sold on roadside stands soon learned a living could be made on the internet by offering their home made products to the world.  Leading the pack (ok, maybe not in roadside stands, but in small, artisanal food businesses), the city of Brooklyn has been at the forefront of this hand-made business explosion.

New York Mouth is a prime example of this online indie food industry. In 2010 Craig Kanarick saw a need for providing artisanal goods to people abroad. The idea came to him when, as he explained to the Huffington Post, he was “visit[ing] a butchers shop in Williamsburg. I asked them why they weren’t doing any ecommerce. The guy was covered in blood and holding a cleaver, and he said, ‘look at me, you think I’m going to build a website?” New York Mouth now sells over 200 products from 90 different merchants, most of them from the 5 boroughs of New York City. It’s an idea that has clearly come. (Even the machinations of the website are homegrown. According to Men’s Journal, “Kanarick … photograph[s] the products himself and design[s] the elegantly luscious website. With its artfully arranged, beautiful bottles packed with magical oils, spices and foods, the site vibe is “culinary apothecary”).

On one of our walks around Brooklyn, Suzanne and I were talking and musing about the locavore movement. In my enjoyment of word puns, I came up with the term “glocal”, melding local and global together. I thought I was being so brilliant.

Nope. Turns out I was wrong.

According to Wikipedia (the ecommerce replacement for the old school dictionary) “Glocal” or more specifically “Glocalization” was first coined in the “late 1980’s in articles by the Japanese economists in the Harvard Business Review… It comes from the Japanese word dochakuka, which means global localization. Originally referring to a way of adapting farming techniques to local conditions, dochakuka evolved into a marketing strategy when Japanese businessmen adopted it”.

 

So I can’t take credit for it. But it’s a brilliant cause that I believe in. I know some people believe that local products can’t be global and still retain their original ethos. However, I disagree. As a songwriter and composer, I am involved everyday in the business of small business. I operate out of my kitchen. I sell my goods and wares online for profit and exposure. And I always, always take pride in the small batches of songs I write and record. Some people might decry the cheapening of quality goods by making them globally available, but I say it’s good for the hand-made industry. I want the world to know my songs, just as Kanarick wants New York Mouth to be “the site that provides access to foods previously only available in a tiny handful of local gourmet shops”.

Isn’t everyone craving for something unique?

 – www.SteveMayone.com

7 thoughts on “Local + Global = Glocal – Guest Post by Steve Mayone

  1. Hi there, I found your website by means of Google even as looking for a similar topic,
    your site got here up, it appears to be like great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog via Google, and
    located that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you proceed this in future. Lots of other people will
    likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  2. I have read some just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how a lot effort you set to make one of
    these great informative website.

  3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. All the best

  4. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find many of
    your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

Leave a Reply

